A school council is an important aspect of any school. It represents the views of the pupils of the school and ensures their voices are heard. They are involved in all areas of school life including governor meetings, appointment of staff and the development of school policies. An effective school council is inclusive, communicates well with all pupils and gets things done.

The school council is made up of form representatives (2 per form group) and year representatives. They feedback to each other through regular meetings.

This year the form representatives will focus on raising £1000 for their chosen charities. Each year group has a selected charity;

  • Year 7 – Dogs Trust
  • Year 8 – Cancer Research UK
  • Year 9 – Tŷ Hafan
  • Year 10 – Save the Children
  • Year 11 – Help for Heroes
  • Year 12/13 – Macmillan

The year representatives will be working on any whole school issues that arise as well as a school newsletter and a project which will see them work within the community. More details of this will follow.

The school council is made up of members from the following groups:

Committee Summary Terms of Reference Membership
  • To have an input into the schools anti-bullying policy
  • To ensure anti-bullying information is filtered down to the whole school through assemblies, school council meeting etc
  • To provide updated information to be added to ACS website
  • To meet regularly to discuss progress of achieving level 4 Healthy Schools award
  • Fatima Hameed
  • Lucy Harding
  • Tegan Griffiths
  • Megan Steel
  • Ellie Jones
  • Nieve Groom
  • Tiegan Griffiths
  • Alicia Jones
Healthy Schools (As above until September 2017) As Above
  • To ensure meetings are approached restoratively by implementing circle time, talking piece etc
  • To work with Younger pupils in the ‘buddy system’ ensuring pupils feel safe in school
  • To review and update the behaviour policy
  • Joshua Evans
  • Fatima Hameed
  • Lucy Harding
  • Carwyn Davies
  • Harriet Miller
Teaching and Learning
  • To participate in interviews for future staff appointments
  • To participate in lesson observations for department reviews
  • To collect and analyse evidence of pupil voice throughout all departments of the school
  • To review and update the Aberdare lesson
  • Joshua Evans
  • Natasha Harris
  • Victoria Powell
  • Megan Anderson
  • Caitlin Flook
  • Molly Evans
  • Fatima Hammed
  • Lucy Harding
  • Carwyn Davies
Eco Schools
  • To meet regularly to discuss environmental issues within the school
  • To aim to achieve the Eco Schools award by setting challenges
  • Connor Mackey
  • Courtney Griffin
  • Fatima Hammed
  • Lucy Harding
  • Victoria Powell

Please keep checking back for updates and photographs of our school council’s work.